The Best X Factor Moments

This year The X Factor has been far from entertaining. In fact, I think that it is the worst series yet. But that’s just my opinion. To honour the fact that in previous years The X Factor hasn’t always been so bad, I am going to give the best moments ever from the show.

Firstly, let me start off with one of the scariest contestants to ever set foot into the audition room. If you remember this contestant then you have been watching The X Factor for a very long time. This contestant who goes by the name of Ariel Burdett, describes herself as a ‘Holistic Vocal Coach’. Without a doubt, the strangest moment to ever be witnessed on the show, but also one of the most memorable. Once you watch the clip I am sure it will re-jog your memory. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAI8qkUgqU4.

Now, Christopher Maloney wanted one thing from doing X Factor, and that was for his Nan. Or should I say “me Nan”. Christopher Maloney became an internet sensation with his saying and plenty of people have been trying to coping him ever since. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1T9-I3wx8I. More X Factor sayings that will go down in history has to be basically anything Louis Walsh says. I think the most recognisable Louis Walsh quote is “You look like a popstar, you sound like a popstar”. It has become almost a tradition that Louis has to say this at least once during each series.

The absolute dream team of X Factor has to go to Louis Walsh and Sharon Osborne. These two are always up to no good, especially when they are in each other’s company. One stand out moment would be the time where they both could not stop laughing at a contestant during an audition. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMaLiqioVLs. This is a very funny moment as Simon literally had to ask them both to leave the table. This led to Sharon almost being taken out by a door due to her laughing so much.

There are two moments in 2010 that will always be great. I will get on to the other moment later on, but first, who could forget the ‘Ablisa Punch’? As soon as these girls stepped onto the stage, you just knew they were going to be terrible. They had a bad attitude and were just plain rude. This was to the audience and the judges. This led to the punch. One of the girls in the paring, harmlessly asked guest judge, Natalie Imbruglia, who she was? Everybody including her partner took offence to this and well quoting Cheryl’s words, “she clomped her in the face”. The video on ‘YouTube’ currently has over 100 million views. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rrNbLBS1D2Q.

I still remember this moment like it was yesterday. I think it will be forever imprinted in my brain, but for a good reason. Rylan getting through to the lives shows will go down in history as one of the biggest freak outs ever. As most people are aware of Rylan is a little bit dramatic on a regular day, so this must have been too much for him to handle. The moment I saw this on TV I was in stitches. This was definitely one of the funniest moments of The X Factor. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WGGTX5JQufU.

I believe it is tradition for The X Factor to have what is known as the ‘joke act’. The very first ‘joke act’ that I can recall, are two Irish boys with massive hair, who go by the name of Jedward. On their first audition everybody thought these two were the most annoying human beings on the planet. Some people will probably still think this, but you have just to learn to love them. Their cover of Vanilla Ice’s ‘Ice Ice Baby’ and Queen’s ‘Under Pressure’, in my opinion will be one of the greatest mash ups ever. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mv8Fk0vLEOU. Also, because there are too many great joke acts to mention, I will name two which I also really love. Who doesn’t love a bit of ‘Wagner’? All I can remember from Wagner is him playing the drums and singing ‘Love Shack’. That is another moment that is imprinted on my brain. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fq49Gv3wFB0.  Also, although these two weren’t really classified as the joke act, they were still hilarious. I am talking about ‘Ant and Seb’. They sang Peter Andre’s ‘Mysterious Girl’ in their audience and I think it is safe to say we all remember this amazing X Factor moment happily. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkKaTeWI3KM.

Hasn’t Sinitta been there from the start? The most shocking moment that Sinitta has done would be walking into Simon’s judge’s houses with nothing but leaves to cover her up. I have just realised that I have put that image back in your heads. Sorry or you’re welcome about that. I’ll let you decide.

I would say the most well-known catchphrase from Saturday night TV would be, “and your Saturday night starts right here”. Let’s thank Mr Dermot O’Leary for getting that stuck in our heads every Saturday, and most importantly let’s not forgetting the little twirl he does after saying it. Just Dermot in general, makes The X Factor ten times better than it normally is. He is probably one of the best TV presenters at the moment. Saying this has made me think of another moment for X Factor presenters. Olly Murs, announcing the wrong result during one of the shows has to be one of the cringiest moments for me to watch on the show, and this year we had to sit through Honey G. I think everybody was divided at this point in the UK. Some people I feel felt sorry for him and others just thought it was funny. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnldNZuMb-A. This leads onto my next moment, where judges Gary Barlow and Tulisa, had a little disagreement. Tulisa was giving her opinion on one of Gary’s acts in the competition and Gary replied and I quote “I don’t know what has offended me more, what you said or the ‘fag ash breath’”. Dermot was straight on cue to sort it out and to make sure that it did not get out of hand. I personally think Olly would have just been standing there awkwardly and not really knowing what to do. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DWDoPhGmkI. Maybe we should just leave Dermot to it. You need to stick to what you know Olly. That is entertaining people. Olly Murs is the definition of The X Factor. His audition for the show was possibly the best there has ever been. I will always remember the dance moves and the flirting with Cheryl. Olly’s audition will forever be the best. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CECQ1zLtokk.

Every year there is a part of the show where each contestant who makes it to the final, will get the opportunity to sing a duet with a celebrity. The one that automatically springs to my mind is the 2008 winner, Alexandra Burke and Beyoncé. She sang ‘Listen’ and it was beautiful. Her voice was complimented by Beyoncé’s perfectly and I don’t think anybody could really blame her for crying. Beyoncé is her idol.  If I had the chance to sing with Beyoncé, I think I would be crying too. She has lived every young singers dream. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2-Bfpe2TK4.

Ever since series one, the groups category has been known as the joke category. This is simply because they never get anywhere in the competition. This had all changed when Little Mix were named the first group to win the show back in 2011. Now, more and more groups are auditioning for their shot at becoming the second winners. All have been unsuccessful and Little Mix still hold the title as the only group ever to win. Girl groups on The X Factor, were seen a curse, but Little Mix finally broke it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fCimjFW4kA.

Going back on what I said earlier, there are two moments in 2010 that will always be great. Well, this is the second and possibly my favourite moment to ever to be shown on The X Factor. The moment where One Direction were formed. This has to be the best X Factor moment ever, because they started off as solo artists but they were turned into a band last minute. This just shows how good they must have been. Considering they have known each other for less than seven years, they have had millions of singles and albums sold all around the world. In America alone, their total album sales is totalled at 7.6 million. They are officially The X Factor’s most successful contestants. The craziest thing about this was that they didn’t even win the show. Matt Cardle was crowned the winner in 2010, and where exactly is he now? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yaD40dK31g.

Finally, everybody will remember this. It’s Chico Time. I’ll leave it at that. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vuVtszMutTA.

 

Leave a comment